Alert:   Website Not Maintained   This website exists for reference purposes only. Visit our Current Site for up-to-date information.
  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
  • RSS
  • Public Health Ethics Committee

    On November 30, 2020, the Pima County Health Department convened its first Public Health Ethics Committee to provide advice to the Director, and quickly pivoted to COVID-19 response and vaccine distribution.

    Currently, the Committee meets regularly to review guidance on vaccine distribution and to consider local context and concerns. Local health departments are encouraged to review the CDC and State guidance. The Committee offers advice to the PCHD Director, which has been invaluable during the challenge of COVID-19 mitigation and vaccine distribution.

    Current Membership

    Dr. Theresa Cullen - Committee Co-Chair, PCHD Director *
    Dr. Adalberto Renteria - Medical Director Pascua Yaqui Tribe
    Wavalene Saunders - Vice Chairwoman Tohono O’odham Nation
    Jacob Bernal - Executive Director, Tucson Indian Center
    Alethea Do - Southern Arizona AIDS Foundation
    Carolyn Trowbridge - PCHD Board of Health
    Charles Geffrion - PCHD Board of Health
    Brittany Kelly - Banner (North) Pharmacist, Banner Northwest Medical
    Dr. Leila Barraza - University of Arizona College of Public Health faculty
    Douglas Hanna -  Captain, Pima County Sheriff’s Department
    Sharon McDonough - Deputy Director Tucson Fire/EMS
    John Carruth - Superintendent Vail School District
    Pastor Grady Scott - Baptist Church, Tucson
    Dr. Paul Melendez - University of Arizona Eller College Faculty
    Nathan Ares- Prep and Pastry, local Tucson restauranteur
    Dr. Dan Derkson - University of Arizona College of Public Health Director, Arizona Center for Rural Health and Health Sciences Associate Vice President for Health Equity
    Mark Clark CEO/President - Pima Council on Aging
    Mia Hansen- Disability Advocate
    Vicki Cuscino - Direct Advocacy and Resource Center- Disability Community
    Mona Arora - University of Arizona, College of Public Health faculty in undergraduate and graduate courses in Emergency Preparedness
    Tom Davis – Chief of Staff, Pima Community College 
    Jason Thorpe - Collaborative Applicant Coordinator, City of Tucson Housing & Community Development Department

    Staff representatives to Committee

    Bonnie Bazata - Pima County Ending Poverty Now Program Manager, Community and Workforce Development
    Kevin Koegel - PCHD Grants and Contracts 
    Manuel Montano - PCHD 
    * Pending Identification of Additional Co-Chair
    Follow Us Share this page

    Health Department

    3950 S. Country Club Road
    Ste. 100
    Tucson, AZ 85714

    (520) 724-7770

    Department Home
    Department News
    Department Directory

    phab logo